Yall West Experience

Hello everyone!!

Its been almost a week since I went to yallwest and it was so much fun! I cant believe it took me this long to go and I will definitely be attending next year!

So lets start with Fierce Friday!

It was definitely not what I expected!

I think I pictured more of a mini yallwest with a lot more to do but it actually was more like a normal book signing with more than one author!

Which was fine I had a great time I got to meet three authors and I would’ve gotten to meet more but I wasn’t familiar with how the process worked next year will definitely be better!

20180504_182239

The first author I got to meet was Alexandra Bracken! I loved talking to her she immediately noticed my groot shirt and she loved it! Seriously one of the nicest authors I have ever met!

20180504_194048

I also got to meet Dhonielle Clayton! I actually wasn’t going to meet her but I was number 83 in Tomis line and it wasn’t moving so I jumped over to Dhonielles line and she was also a groot fan! She also loved hearing about how my husband bought her book to settle a fight! It was so fun talking to her and she was so appreciative to all her fans!

 

So of course I met Tomi Adeyemi which was an experience itself! She was so sweet and did her best to talk even though she had to push people through her line as fast as she could! Her and Marissa Meyer were on fire their lines were insane but they signed everyone of those books and had the best time doing it!

 

Now for the actual festival! That ish was crazy I mean I’ve never seen bookworms fight so hard for the things they want! For a bunch of introverts id say we all did pretty good! We made friends in line and suffered through insane crowds! If  your an introvert and went to this festival props to you because that was insane!

It was a lot of fun though by the end of the day I was extremely sun burned and exhausted but I would have done it all week if I could it was an experience of a lifetime!

Since literally everything at this festival requires an hour long line I only got to meet three authors but the ones I did meet were 1000x worth it!

20180505_120700

So the first author I met was 100% by accident! I was walking around and I stumbled on the beginning of a line for an arc drop so I figured why not ill hang out here for an hour! I quickly learned that it was a signing for the arc too which was amazing! Alex London was so kind and so excited for his book to get into readers hands it was a very cool experience!

20180505_132617

The next author I met was Melissa De La Cruz! This is the most meaningful signature and author I got to meet the entire trip! Melissa made an enormous impact in my reading as a teenager and she’s part of the reason I still read today! It was so amazing to meet one of my childhood hero’s and I will forever cherish this memory! (You cant tell in the pic but I was shaking!)

20180505_170146

The very last thing and last line I stood in was for Shaun David Hutchinson! I loved We Are the Ants and it was really nice to talk to him! I was very first in line and as you can tell I was extremely burned at that point but it was worth the wait and I will be keeping an eye out for any of his future books!

 

And that’s it! I cannot wait for next year! I definitely recommend this festival if you haven’t gone do it! Worth every penny!

Trip total cost: 800$

Experience of a lifetime: Priceless

 

 

One thought on “Yall West Experience

  1. Looks like you had so much fun–I’m so happy that you got to meet one of your favorite authors who inspired you to keep reading!

    Like

Leave a comment