Witchy *Spoiler Free* Review

Info:

Title: Witchy by Ariel Slamet RiesPublisher: Oni Press

Release Date: September 19, 2019

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis:

In the witch kingdom Hyalin, the strength of your magic is determined by the length of your hair. Those that are strong enough are conscripted by the Witch Guard, who enforce the law in peacetime and protect the land during war. However, those with hair judged too long are pronounced enemies of the kingdom, and annihilated. This is called a witch burning.

Witchy is a comic about the young witch Nyneve, who is haunted by the death of her father and the threat the Witch Guard poses to her own life. When conscription rolls around, Nyneve has a choice to make; join the institution complicit in her father’s death, or stand up for her ideals?

Review:

Oh my gosh this comic was sooo amazing!!

I was not sure how id feel about this one at first.

I love comic books and I heard it was amazing but I’ve never heard of it until I received it in a book box.

Im so glad I didn’t wait any longer to pick this one up and I need another one asap!!!

First of all the art in this book is amazing. Its so colorful and beautiful.

The magic system is so cool. There is one part of it thats a little confusing but its vol 1 I’m sure those kinks will be worked out.

Our main character is so relatable. She has all these high intense emotions that are so normal for her age.

Im mean I’m sure we can all relate to doing something out of emotion and completely regretting it later.

It obvious there is so much more she has to learn and I can’t wait to see he character development in future volumes.

It also has representation for POC and Transgender.

The transgender piece of it was a piece of the story I was not expecting but I loved that was in there.

I don’t often see representation in fantasy type books so I thought this was really cool of the author.

The ending also set up vol 2 perfectly making readers want more!

I definitely recommend this comic book. Even if you don’t like comics I feel like anyone can enjoy this.

Anyways thats all for me don’t forget to drop that like and leave a comment down below!

Leave a comment