Daughter of the Burning City *Spoiler Free* Review

Info:

Title: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Release Date: July 25, 2017

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear.

Review:

Hello Hello!

Happy Sunday all I hope you all are having an amazing and relaxing day!

I finally finished this book after 6 days of minor reading pains.

I should’ve been able to read a book like this in much less time.

However, with this book I kept getting distracted. I would sit down and read this book, then 10 seconds later id be doing something else.

This book is good. I love the traveling circus/ carnival vibes and some of the characters I liked.

It just didn’t hold my attention at all.

The beginning was rough because there are so many characters right off the bat. It takes some getting used to.

The main character is my biggest problem with this book. She’s so uninteresting and this story would’ve been 1000% better if told from say Lucas perspective.

I love the concept and the world building that is in this book and I think that why I continued to read it.

I feel like this one was a missed opportunity and its this authors first book so maybe there will be some growth from this author in the future.

I do own another Amanda Foody book that I do plan to read because I think this author has great ideas but the characters missed their mark in this book.

I will say that the ending did surprise me. I had a few more guesses from the beginning that were a bit more complex than the actual ending.

This area is also a missed opportunity. I liked the ending but it was a little too easy of an ending.

Its hard to properly determine how I feel about this book because I fell somewhere exactly in the middle.

It wasn’t the best book but it also wasn’t the worst.

The way I have been describing it on instagram is as “meh”.

Anyways, thats it for this review. I apologize if it wasn’t as articulate as I intended.

This book is very difficult to describe because I’m so on the fence.

I do look forward to seeing what else Foody will do and I will have a review for those books hopefully soon!

Don’t forget to leave a like and comment your thoughts on this book!

See you all in the next one!

Leave a comment